One Web Day Essay – Amusements on the Web

September 9, 2009 at 1:35 pm Leave a comment

One of the things I really enjoy about the World Wide Web is that there are so many avenues in which we can express humor. I mean, I love to laugh—who doesn’t? And with the Internet, you have a choice of how you get your daily laugh.

You can go to YouTube and watch a video of a baby dancing and singing along to “Single Ladies” by Beyonce, or watch three old ladies try to get out of a speeding ticket by booty dancing in front of a police officer. You can watch funny commercials, not just from the United States, but countries all over the world. My personal favorites are the somewhat inappropriate Ikea videos, banned here in the U.S., but with the wonderful invention of the World Wide Web, we still have access to them, and I can watch them anytime I want, as many times I want.

I also enjoy random sites such as AwkwardFamilyPhotos.com and PeopleofWalmart.com. These sites are more specialized, with a special brand of humor, often at the expense of the people featured in the photos.

Another type of Internet humor I find really funny is sites dedicated to certain memes. I don’t know why but I get a huge kick out of these things! I’m big fan of the Xzibit “Yo Dawg” meme and there are sites dedicated to the memes and filled with variations of them. What’s really funny about the Xzibit meme in particular is that it developed from a television show (Pimp My Ride), and gained a whole new shelf life via the Web. An example of the Xzibit meme, “Yo dawg, we heard you like exhibits so we put Xzibit in your exhibit so you can look at Xzibit while you exhibit Xzibit in your exhibit.” Or, “Yo Dawg, I heard you like functions so we put a function in your function so you can derive while you derive.” There are hundreds of hilarious memes, and I suggest you visit http://knowyourmeme.com in your free time because you’ll be sure to waste a lot of time looking and laughing. For your viewing pleasure:

Yo Dawg 1

Yo Dawg 2

All in all, I just think that the Web can be a great stress reliever and make any horrible day at least a teensy bit better with its vast array of amusements!

Entry filed under: COM 530- Theory & Analysis, random musings. Tags: .

Is There Value in Actual Experience Over Virtual Experience? One Web Day Video

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

JQ Tweets!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


